Tabletop Game Genre Headings

I am an avid gamer. I like computer games and casual games, but by far my favorite type of game are tabletop games. These can range from traditional board games, to card games, to family games, and anything in between.

I am fortunate to work here at UNT where our Media Library has one of the largest library-owned tabletop game collections in the world. I cannot share much now because the project is still in its early stages, but I am currently working with two other cataloging librarians here to develop genre heading terms for tabletop games. Our goal is to use these headings to help patrons find games easier in the catalog and a be able to narrow down a game selection based on exactly what type of game they want to play.

As we develop this list a move forward with the various stages of the project, I will keep this blog updated with our findings and ideas.

